Entirely at the last minute, and after the closing date for officially signing up, I’ve decided to attempt Dewey’s 24-hour readathon this Saturday. In the UK, the times are 1pm-1pm, and at present I’m not sure how much of the time I will spend reading (and how much will be spent frantically rewriting a research proposal, since, you know, day job & all that). I do have some coffee sitting in my fridge that advertises itself, promisingly, as HIGH CAFFEINE, so who knows? Maybe I’ll get the proposal written before 1pm and then I’ll have the very great pleasure of sitting and reading for hours on end. At present, a rough TBR for the day looks like this:

1) Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett (an old favourite that I’m looking for an excuse to reread)
2) The Kite Rider by Geraldine McCaughrean (which has been on my TBR  forever)
3) Taliesin by Stephen Lawhead
4) The Strangler Vine by MJ Carter

I seriously doubt that I could read all of those in 24 hours–not thoroughly enough to enjoy them, at any rate–and I might change my mind or pick up a couple of books in a charity shop that I’d rather read. Even so, it’s nice to have a plan! Let me know if you are also planning on participating and I can come and cheer on your blog 🙂

 

EDIT: Belatedly realised that I should probably include the link for the readathon. That would be helpful, right? Here it is.

FURTHER EDIT: Realised that 1pm-1am, which is what I initially had listed, is not actually 24 hours but 12. I did wonder why it sounded relatively. I definitely won’t be doing 1pm-1pm because I have church on Sunday morning, but I will try and do as much as I can. Also, I have learnt that I definitely shouldn’t make blog posts on the fly because I will end up making two edits within five minutes.

