Classics Club Spin (April-May 15)

I’m participating in the Classics Club Spin again. When I say “participating”, maybe I’ll actually read the book this time. In case you’re unfamiliar with either The Classics Club or the spin: my original list is here, Classics Club is here (go and say hello, they’re lovely), and the idea of a spin is that people list 20 books that are as yet unread from their lists, numbered 1-20. Next Monday, they’ll announce a number on the Classics Club blog, and then people are challenged to read that book by May 15th. It’s got to be shorter books for me this time, because my April is madly busy, but I’m hoping that I get to play this time. (I’ll be spending a lot of time on public transport, so at least I might get some reading done then).

That was probably an unnecessarily long preamble. Here’s my list:

5 books that I can’t wait to read:

1) The Maltese Falcon (Dashiell Hammett)
2) Animal Farm (George Orwell)
3) Cold Comfort Farm (Stella Gibbons)
4) The Man in the High Castle (Philip K Dick)
5) Slaughterhouse-Five (Kurt Vonnegut)

5 books that inspire trepidation:

6) Brideshead Revisited (Evelyn Waugh)
7) The Trial (Franz Kafka)
8) Mrs Dalloway (Virginia Woolf)
9) Beloved (Toni Morrison)
10) The Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger)

5 books that I’m neutral about:

11) Uncle Tom’s Cabin (Harriet Beecher Stowe)
12) Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)
13) The War of the Worlds (HG Wells)
14) The Art of War (Sun Tzu)
15) Mary Barton (Elizabeth Gaskell)

5 children’s classics:

16) The Children of the New Forest (Captain Marryat)
17) The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (L. Frank Baum)
18) The Last Unicorn (Peter S Beagle)
19) A Little Princess (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
20) The Princess and the Goblin (George MacDonald)

Secretly, I’m hoping for one of the children’s classics. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a children’s book (not counting Harry Potter), and I really miss it. It’s one of the cons of participating in the Goodreads Seasonal Reading Challenge … but that’s another post for another day. In the meantime, here’s my list! Anyone joining me on any of these?

2 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin (April-May 15)

  1. I can understand your trepidation books …… I’m intrigued by The Trial though. The Children of the New Forest is a children’s book that I’ve been wanting to read, so I think I’d vote for that one, although I loved Frankenstein too. Have a good spin!

Leave a Reply

