Bout of Books May 2015

My “regular Friday posts” thing never did work out. That’s okay. It was an ambition, not a hard-and-fast rule. In fact, I suspect that blog posts are going to become more sporadic for a while, rather than less. The PhD is turning into a time-sucking social-life-devouring monster, and, as much as I love to read, the few hours I currently have which aren’t devoted to my research or my “real” job are spent on top priority activities, like sleeping and eating and trying to keep my flat inhabitable.

That said, I probably do have a brief lull in activities coming up later this month, and I’ve decided to try and make that lull coincide with Bout of Books if I possibly can. I love readathons, which are basically like parties, except that they happen online, and there are lots of books, and I can wear my pyjamas if I want to (and, let’s face it, I want to). An official definition of Bout of Books is here:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 11th and runs through Sunday, May 17th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 13 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
 

A nice low-pressure internet book party seems like the ideal way to celebrate all the wonderful productive things that I am going to accomplish over the next couple of weeks (ahem), so I want to participate. The lovely people organising this make it absolutely clear that a) goals are optional, b) goals are individual, and b) not meeting goals is not the same as failing. However, there are very few things I love more than a good plan, so with that in mind, I’ve made a list.

  1. Have a relaxing week after having worked very hard for a long stretch.
  2. Make new bookish internet friends.
  3. Read as much or as little as I want to.

That’s it. Those are my goals. Probably they are the same as my weekly goals would be even if I weren’t doing Bout of Books, but I never feel as though a goal is really properly a goal until I’ve written it down. I have constructed a provisional TBR though, mostly because I like piling up books. It gives me a warm anticipatory feeling. During readathons, I like to read things that are (or at least have been) very popular in the bookternet, because it gives better opportunities for interesting discussions, so there’s a bit of that going on in this pile. There are also just a couple of things I’ve been wanting to get to for a while, and haven’t had the chance to yet.

I might read these, but I also might read other boo

I might read these, but I also might read other books. It’s also entirely possible that I might not read at all.

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
In einem anderen Buch von Jasper Fforde (NB this is a German translation of Lost in a Good Book, which I’m sure lots of you have read).
Gaudy Night by DL Sayers
When Nights Were Cold by Susanna Jones
Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders
The Secret History by Donna Tartt

There’s also a copy of My Antonia by Willa Cather waiting for me at my local bookshop, patiently holding on until I actually get ten minutes to stop by and pick it up. In May I’ll also get a new audiobook credit from Audible, which I’m currently planning to use for either Redshirts by John Scalzi or The Martian by Andy Weir. We’ll see.

I think that’s it for now. Let me know if you’re planning on participating, or if you’ve read anything on my list.

Bout of Books

PS Sorry about the terrible formatting of this. I’ve been having some problems with WordPress tonight, and I am too tired to put in the energy needed to get it to play nicely with me. I hope it isn’t too wall-of-text-y.

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books May 2015

Leave a Reply

