Apparently, despite my total inability to actually stick to any kind of blogger event, challenge, or group activity, I still sign up for them compulsively. My flakiness aside, I do love blogger events and the conversations that always get sparked during them. I enjoyed reading other people’s Armchair BEA posts last year, and this week is actually not too mad, work-wise, so there is a possibility that I might get to post something more than an introduction this time around. We’ll see. I’ll definitely be participating on Twitter, even if I don’t get a chance to post very much here. Here are my answers to the introductory questions.

I don’t even have an armchair in my flat. Am I still allowed to participate from a sofa? #importantquestions

1) Share your favorite blog post on your blog. (aka written by you!)
I wrote this post for Banned Books Week last year. I was pretty nervous about it, which made me put much more work in than I otherwise would have.

What is your favorite genre and why?
Actually, this is an area where blogging has made a big difference to my reading life. A year ago, it would have unquestionably been classics at the top of my list, closely followed by crime or historical fiction. I still love classics, but following bloggers with a variety of different interests has encouraged me to broaden my reading scope. I don’t know if I still have a “favourite” genre as such. I also really enjoy listening to memoirs and autobiographies in audiobook format.

What book are you reading right now?
Song of the Lark by Willa Cather. I’m also listening to the audiobook of Farewell to the East End by Jennifer Worth, the last of the Call the Midwife books. It made me cry on the bus in an embarrassing fashion, so there’s a recommendation for you.

What is the top book in your TBR pile?
Either Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bollick, or Poems that Make Grown Men Cry, a compilation edited by Anthony and Ben Holden.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what author would you want to bring with you? Why?
Chris Ryan seems like the practical choice. He was in the SAS, after all. Failing that, the author I would most want to hang out with for an unspecified period of time might be DL Sayers. She seems like fun.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Here’s hoping I actually write something this time.
