2016 Goals

I don’t know if I’ll stick to this, but I like lists and goals. I didn’t meet that many of last year’s, but I enjoyed having them there—and I did read more science fiction, more poetry, and more memoir, which were on the list. So there’s that.

1) No more Amazon. I have cut down my use of Amazon this past year, but I’ve still been using it for Audible as well as for the occasional purchase from someone’s wishlist. There are lots of things I don’t particularly like about Amazon, especially the claims about their office culture and poor treatment of staff. On top of that, my favourite bookshop in the world closed down recently—I’m not claiming that it was necessarily because of Amazon, but it can’t have helped. From now on, if I want an audiobook, I will pay full price for it on iTunes, and if someone sets up an Amazon wishlist, I will choose their present and then post it. You know, with stamps and everything. (I hear those still exist).

2) Books I particularly want to get to this year.

The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor. I cannot find this anywhere (except Amazon). I’m going to look into requesting it as an interlibrary loan, because I really want to read it.
Busman’s Honeymoon by DL Sayers
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. I was intending to leave this until post-PhD, but my book club are reading it over December and January. Technically I am making progress, by which I mean that I’ve opened it three times, on each occasion getting an instant headache from the font size. I’ll get there though.
Taliesin by Stephen Lawhead
The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkein
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

3) Read a novel cover-to-cover in German. I am determined this time. I’m thinking Erebos by Ursula Poznanski, a young adult novel about a malicious computer game, might fit the bill—I read the blurb with ease, so that’s a good sign. Alternatively, I do have Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen sitting on my shelf, so that might turn out to be a much easier place to start.

5) Actually review the Classics Club books that I read. I think this was on my goals list last year, too. I can but try.

6) Little House readalong! I haven’t read the Little House books since I was a small child (except for These Happy Golden Years, which I basically read on a loop during the year when I was 14). I am both curious and apprehensive to find out what I make of them as a grown-up. In light of this, I’m joining the Little House readalong being co-hosted by Bex over at An Armchair By The Sea and Lynn of Smoke and Mirrors. We’ll be reading one book each month, plus a handful of related books at the end of the year.

7) Don’t spend so much time reading that it distracts me from finishing my PhD on time. Ahem, probably the most important goal. Submit my thesis is on all of my New Year lists in some way or other. Speaking of, that’s probably what I should be working on right now, instead of this.

Happy New Year, everyone! I wish you a lovely year full of excellent people, interesting books, and nice things to eat.

 

8 thoughts on “2016 Goals

  1. Hooray! Happy to have you joining us for Little House! I love making goals lists too although I also never complete half of what’s on them. Good luck with the PhD!

  2. Hooray happy to have you joining us for Little House! I’ve been boycotting Amazon for a few years now, if you ever really need an online alternative I can highly recommend Wordery,they also have free worldwide shipping which is good! I love making goals lists but almost never complete anything. Good luck with the PhD!

    • Thanks! I’m really looking forward to the readalong. I use Wordery and Hive a lot as my online alternatives (one of my local bookshops has a Hive account so they get a cut whenever I make a purchase). So glad I’m not the only one who enjoys making lists of goals. Happy New Year!

  3. Looks like you have some realistic-but-still-challenging goals here, which can kind of be an accomplishment in itself, haha! Good luck with that War & Peace read. Also, good luck with that PhD! & Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

