I never got around to finishing my post for last week’s Nonfiction November prompt about what makes you choose a particular nonfiction book. It’s very hard to spin “because I want to read it” out into a full post, but I honestly do not have a more sophisticated answer than that. This week, however, we have arrived at my favourite week of the month – book pairings! I’m arriving a bit late to the party, but I’m here now. This week’s host is Liz at Adventures in Reading, Running, and Working from Home.

This week, pair up a nonfiction book with a fiction title. Maybe it’s a historical novel and the real history in a nonfiction version, or a memoir and a novel, or a fiction book you’ve read and you would like recommendations for background reading. You can be as creative as you like! You can feel free to use books you’ve read any time in this last year or whenever.

In recent years, I’ve tried pairing nonfiction books with TV programmes and Youtube channels, but this year I’m returning to the actual spirit of the prompt. Without in any way meaning to, I’ve read three novels this year that focus – with varying levels of success – on the letters and/or unpublished manuscripts of fictional writers: Possession (poet Randolph Ash), The Distant Hours (novelist Raymond Blythe), and The Stranger Diaries (short story writer RM Holland). I thought it might therefore be fun to find some biographies, letter collections, and other nonfiction about real writers – and I’ve even found a poet, a novelist, and a short story writer, all the better to correspond to my original books.

Super-Infinite: The Transformations of John DonneKatherine Rundell

I have not made a particularly comprehensive study of John Donne’s work, but I very much like the little I’ve read. Also, his work is pretty liberally quoted in the Wimsey-Vane romance in DL Sayers’ novels, which further endears him to me. Donne had a pretty weird and fascinating life, and I’ve heard such good things about this biography. It’s been on my shelf for a while, and I’m hoping to tackle it over the Christmas break. (This has been a very long and stressful term, but over Christmas I have three entire weeks of holiday. Some of it is university closure days; some is annual leave; all of it will be wonderful reading time. I have already started making a pile of books, and this is on the very top).

The Letters of JRR Tolkienedited by Humphrey Carpenter with Christopher Tolkien

Tolkien is a forever-favourite author for me. Of course I want to read his letters. This collection, organised by his authorised biographer Humphrey Carpenter, focuses on the letters that discuss his process of gradually creating Middle-earth and his feelings about writing generally. It also includes some of the letters he wrote to his sons when they were serving in WWII, and reflections on his own experiences of WWI. This is obviously not the type of book you read cover to cover, but I do want to work my way through them gradually. I’m always interested to read about the creative processes of writers I admire – and perhaps none more so than Tolkien, for whom the worldbuilding part was so very important.

Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making – John Curran

Yes, I know Christie is now famous for her novels, but she got her start writing short stories and she was very good at it. It counts. Anyway, I respect Christie’s craftsmanship enormously. This book by scholar John Curran looks at how she worked out and developed her ideas, and more generally at her writing process. He was given access to her entire archive of notebooks, and this book (which is otherwise nonfiction) even includes two short stories that had never before been published. The writing process of an author who was so exceptional at plots should really be of interest to anyone who wants to write genre fiction, I think – and all the more so to me because I love so many of Christie’s books.

There you have it! Three books that have been written because real biographers or scholars have done the kind of archival detective work carried out by the protagonists of Possession, The Distant Hours, and The Stranger Diaries. This has been as much fun as this week of November always is. And I’ll take any recommendations for books on how individual writers write, which is a subject of endless fascination for me!