O frabjous day, callooh, callay! I have discovered a Jeeves and Wooster novel that I’ve never read before. I actually thought Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves was one of the very many Wodehouse stories in the huge compendium that my dad had when I was growing up, so I was convinced I’d read it already. I picked up the audiobook, narrated by Jonathan Cecil, when I wanted something light and fun to listen to. About a chapter in, I was delighted to realise that a) it was a novel, not the title story in a collection, and b) I’d never read it before! Not only that, but it features Aunt Dahlia, Totleigh Towers, Madeline Bassett (my second-favourite of all Bertie’s accidental fiancées, second only to Honoria Glossop) and Gussie Fink-Nottle. Those are all the ingredients required for some truly top-notch Wodehouse.

There is not really much point reviewing the plot of a Jeeves and Wooster novel. There is, in no particular order: unsolicited romantic intrigue, headwear disputes, impersonation of an officer of the law, breaking and entering, reckless vegetarianism, and cook-related hijinks. It’s all brilliant – every part and particle. I have loved so many books and so many authors, but it’s difficult to think of anyone whose writing has given me as much pleasure, over as much of my life, as PG Wodehouse. I don’t think this is up there with the very best – it’s relatively late in the series, and he’s definitely playing the hits – but the hits became hits for a reason, after all. This isn’t what I would suggest as an entry point for the newcomer. I think you’d be better off with The Mating Season, or The Code of the Woosters. However, if you are already a committed fan and you suddenly discover you haven’t read this, rejoice! Run, don’t walk, to your nearest audiobook repository, and acquire a copy immediately.

As for the audiobook itself – Jonathan Cecil is a fantastic narrator. I’ve listened to and watched many Jeeves and Wooster adaptations of these novels. Most famously, of course, Fry and Laurie adapted them with splendid aplomb in the 90s, but there have been countless radio adaptations as well. (I think the worst adaptations I’ve encountered are probably the 1970s Radio 4 adaptations with Richard Briers as Bertie, along with Michael Hordern as Jeeves. I love a lot of Briers’ work, but I find his casting as Bertie totally inexplicable). Anyway, the point is that Cecil is such a great narrator of these novels that he is slowly coming to supplant Laurie as the Voice of Bertie for me. I would be very up for more Jeeves and Wooster adaptations – always assuming that the screenwriter doesn’t monkey around with them too much – but it’s difficult to imagine anyone could improve on an afternoon spent listening to Jonathan Cecil’s Wodehouse while out and about in the early spring sun. I heartily commend it to you all!


Housekeeping: Apologies for not having been around much lately. I have been distracted with other hobbies and I think I need a little break from blogging to get my enthusiasm back. I’m going to take a few weeks off, especially as the main module that I run is has just started and will be taking a lot of my energy for the next few weeks. If all goes according to plan, I should be back soon!

Gone Leavin’